Front End Supervisor rings up Cashier

A gin martini, with olive, in a cocktail glass.

A gin martini, with olive, in a cocktail glass. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Wally plugged away at the store for more than five years. As a Cashier in a busy supermarket, there was always something to keep him busy. Wally was dependable and his supervisor bragged on his ability to balance every time at the end of his shift. “That’s harder to do than it sounds” she said.

Wally, during his off hours would often come in to the store to pick up a few items and chit chat. No big deal, lots of employees did that. It was a family atmosphere with lots of long term employees. Because everyone knew each other pretty well, the whole store knew every one’s business. During work they would trade stories about their spouse or kid’s activities, or what they did the night before.

Unfortunately for Wally, he began to enjoy the night life a little too much. He found some new friends who he described as having less regard for a day of work than I did at the time. Evening parties lasted well into the early morning. All the parties and extra-curricular activity got Wally out of his groove. He was spending more on drinks and clubs than ever before. His co workers noticed him not being himself and coming into working looking like he was dragging a sack. Over a period of time, Wally’s job performance began to decline.

The supervisor noticed she had to recount his till more than usual. Wally, the usually dependable cashier began calling off more and more and sometimes just a few minutes before his shift. His supervisor kept track of his excuses and knew sometimes he just made something up when he called in sick. “At first, I believed him. His excuses became a regular feature. After a while, I knew something was up.” Wally missed more and more work and as he tells it, “The real reason was all the partying, I was out regularly and with all my new good time friends, I really got off track.” Wally was eventually terminated due to excessive absences and tardiness. He said, “I am more focused now so I think I learned my lesson. What did me in? Probably the last straw was when I told her my Grandfather passed away and I had to tend to the family. Everyone at work knew my Dad was 86 years old,” he smiled and shook his head and said… “Do the math.”

Leave a Reply

