I’ll have another scratches- ruins network story line

Horse Racing

Horse Racing (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bob Costas couldn’t cope.  The story was written. The media had already crowned the favorite the triple crown winner. All that was left was to run the race. The story was 1.5 miles away. History was the same distance away.

Stop there. I’ll Have Another damaged ligaments in his lower leg. Confirmed by ultrasound tests yesterday. The owner and trainer  decided to pull the horse from the race. What’s more, the horse was retired and will not race again. Trainer Doug O’Neill said sure the horse could have made the distance and probably win, but why risk it?

A Triple Crown winner could mean millions in stud fees. Triple Crown winners breath rare air. They are worth millions. Stables are now so concerned with sales that the stud fees are a key revenue stream. Why risk the big bucks if the unthinkable happens. Play it safe.

As for the story line, all the pre race shows were doing “Had he run or Had he not scratched or would he have won. I realize it is hard to turn an ocean liner around on a dime but I grew tired of the had he and would he haves.  It was difficult to watch.

One other issue that looms large. Horse Racing in New York is now run by the state. There is a detention barn set up and since Wednesday, all horses are closely monitored. Hmmm. Was O’Neill, already under scrutiny in California, motivated to pull the horse for another reason…. Naw! Millions are at stake…Naw!

Well, history will have to wait. I’ll Have Another is out to stud. He is a stallion now. And he WILL have another and another and another. Enjoy the good life out in the pastures. You almost made it!

15 thoughts on “I’ll have another scratches- ruins network story line

  1. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a very neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  2. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

    Like

  3. I simply want to mention I’m newbie to weblog and honestly enjoyed this web blog. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You surely have awesome articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website.

    Like

  4. I simply want to mention I am newbie to blogging and certainly enjoyed you’re web site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with excellent well written articles. Thank you for sharing your website page.

    Like

  5. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

