First tracks on debut albums

I was having a discussion with a guitar playing friend of mine the other night and we hit on Led Zeppelin‘s first album. We were saying that the first time most of the general public ever heard Led Zeppelin was from the radio.

English: Robert Plant (left) and Jimmy Page (r...

English: Robert Plant (left) and Jimmy Page (right) of Led Zeppelin, in concert in Chicago, Illinois Italiano: Robert Plant (sinistra) e Jimmy Page (destra) dei Led Zeppelin durante un concerto a Chicago, Illinois (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Back then of course, the world made its way to the record store, in my case, National Record Mart in South Hills Village, to buy an album. Harking back, I think they were $5.99 or something. Getting home with new vinyl, the first song,  “Good Times Bad Times“, foretold of things to come. It is still one of my all time favorites. 2 years. 4 albums, and  32 songs later, the other fab four Led Zeppelin gave us  “Stairway to Heaven.”

That got me thinking about first tracks on debut albums.

I thought I would share with you a list I made.

Rolling Stones Route 66 1964
Jimi Hendrix Foxy Lady 1966
Eric Clapton Slunky 1970
Beatles I Saw Her Standing There 1963
Janis Joplin Bye, Bye Baby 1967
The Who Out in the Street 1965
Led Zeppelin Good Times Bad Time 1969
Elvis Presley Blue Suede Shoes 1956
Eric Burdon & The Animals House of the Rising Sun 1964
Stevie Ray Vaughn Love Struck Baby 1983
Doobie Brothers Nobody 1971
Allman Brothers Don’t Want You No More 1969
Deep Purple And The Address 1968

It is surprising that some of the first tracks were hits right away and some artists took a while before they became firmly rooted in the Rock/ Blues explosion of the 60’s.

I was surprised that Elvis’ first track was Blue Suede Shoes. I guess you have to start somewhere. Some first tracks of big name artists don’t register with us right away.

Can anyone hum the first part of Slunky? Thought so!

Do you have a favorite to add to my list?  Don’t be shy. I would love to hear from you!

The Essential Elvis Presley

The Essential Elvis Presley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Leave a Reply

