Grillmates BBQ

I threw bbq for a small group of friends. I used McCormick Grill Mates products exclusively in preparing the food.

  • Grill Mates® Spiced Brandy & Herb Marinade
  • Grill Mates® Slow and Low Memphis Pit BBQ Rub
  • Grill Mates® Montreal Steak Seasoning Blend
  • Grill Mates® Molasses Bacon Seasoning Blend
  • Grill Mates® Brown Sugar Bourbon BBQ Sauce

I marinated pork ribs in the Slow and Low Memphis Pit BBQ rub. I did this the day before to really let the rub settle. The ribs were on the grill all day and you can see by the photo, turned out tender and juicy. My guests raved about the flavor. I used mesquite charcoal in the smoker which burns clean and hot. I sometimes put in some pine which burns well. Problem with pine is that it emits a tar that can be hard on the meat. Used sparingly though, works well. I try to stick with mesquite. I also used cherry wood smoke chips which give a nice flavor.

The smoker I used has a large water pan. People say it doesn’t make a difference but I like to try different things floating in the water. I add beer or red wine. Apples, onions, garlic, celery stalks and olive oil. Still not sure what the result is but it looks GOOD!

I also made a lot of friends with the  Montreal Steak seasoning. Sprinkled on the ribs, in the salad, and on the burgers from the second grill. I loved it. My friends raved. The other winner was the Brown Sugar Bourbon BBQ Sauce. We had bowls of it around the table and it went fast. Nice compliment to the ribs. Great with the Merlot I uncorked.

Our smoked chicken was marinated overnight in the Spiced Brandy & Herb Marinade. The flavor worked well with smoking and imparted a nice subtle yet smoky flavor. I usually leave the chicken on longer and once it sears and locks in the juice, you have a winner.

One more thing. I roasted corn. Not sure if you have ever done this but you should try it. Soak the corn, still in the husks, in milk, sugar, and water. I usually let mine go over night. I learned this years ago from some friends who farm in Pennsylvania. Try it. The results are an amazingly sweet juicy corn on the cob. It goes great with real butter and sea salt or kosher salt. I am sure there won’t be any left. Try it. Let me know too if you have heard of this in the comment section. I am curious if this is a common thing. Like I said, I learned about it from farmers. Maybe it is a family thing? Works!

1 thought on “Grillmates BBQ

Leave a comment